The 7 Headstands of Ashtanga Yoga – Wellness


The roots of Ashtanga Yoga lie in the ancient Hindu texts, but it achieved it existing working day fame below the wings of the nicely renowned master, Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. The key characteristics of Ashtanga consist of the stream involving postures and the inversions practiced in a session that encourages blood circulation and sweating for purification applications. The inverted poses or headstands are practiced based on the stage of command the yogi possesses. There are seven headstands or Shirshasanas and are done at the conclusion of an Ashtanga session.

The Headstands are broken down into two sections, 1 with the palms bound and supporting the head, and the second with the palms free and not supporting the head. These headstands are most typically finished following the downward going through doggy pose. The Salamba or Supported Shirshasanas involve:

Baddha Hasta Shirshasana A: The terms Baddha Hasta are pretty much translated into Certain Fingers. In this headstand, the arms are clasped powering the head in get to develop a hand foundation in which the head can be supported.

Baddha Hasta Shirshasana B: This version has the yogi with the arms out front with both palms clasping the reverse elbow.

Baddha Hasta Shirshasana C: The posture is further altered to achieve the pose that is really shut to the Peacock pose. The distinction in between them is that the head remains on the flooring instead of boosting it higher than your shoulders as is done in the Peacock pose. The forearms are positioned parallel to each other with the hands palms down flat on the flooring.

Baddha Hasta Shirshasana D: This variation of the baddha hasta only has the head and elbows on the ground, while the palms are put on the shoulders.

The supported headstands present the yogi assistance to achieve equilibrium though focusing the excess weight on the head. The Niralamba or Unsupported Shirshasanas are even more superior than the Baddha Hasta Shirshasanas as they do not permit the fingers to aid the head at all. These headstands incorporate:

Mukta Hasta Shirshasana A: This headstand is the most essential of the Mukta Hasta series and results in the impression of a tripod, as the arms are stretched out straight at shoulder width with the palms experiencing up. Becoming a extremely advanced pose, most yogis use props these kinds of as pillows less than the head in advance of they get finish command about the posture.

Mukta Hasta Shirshasana B: Additional elaborate than Mukta hasta A, this variation resembles a forklift. The arms are held out straight with palms struggling with upwards. They are held apart from each and every other at about a 60 diploma angle. This headstand requires a large amount of practice as it is a difficult to obtain posture.

Mukta Hasta Shirshasana C: This is the most complicated and challenging to complete headstand and frequently necessitates yrs of follow prior to a single can achieve mastery over it. For this asana, the arms are held out straight at 180 levels from each and every other and the palms are placed on the flooring deal with down. The elbows have to remain straight as nicely and can verify to be rather an ordeal to attain.

Attaining mastery of these seven headstands is frequently deemed to be a main landmark that differentiates newbie and intermediate yogis from the masters.


Write-up Source by Amna Babar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts